Box of Rain

John Coltrane – My Favorite Things (1961) (2022) Remastered [24-96]

In celebration of the 60th anniversary of John Coltrane’s My Favorite Things, Rhino has announced a remastered deluxe edition of the album.

My Favorite Things 60th Anniversary Deluxe Edition was remastered from the original tapes and features new stereo and mono mixes, the latter of which was once believed lost.

Originally released in March 1961, My Favorite Things was Coltrane’s first album to feature him playing soprano saxophone, most notably on the title track written by Rodgers and Hammerstein for The Sound of Music musical. A radio edit of Coltrane’s rendition of “My Favorite Things” was a hit, helping to introduce him to a wider audience. The LP was inducted into the Grammy Hall of Fame in 1998 and certified Gold in 2018.

Release Date: May 20, 2022

Track Listing:

  1. My Favorite Things (Mono) 13:50
  2. Everytime We Say Goodbye (Mono) 5:43
  3. Summertime (Mono) 11:39
  4. But Not For Me (Mono) 9:43
  5. My Favorite Things (Stereo) 13:46
  6. Everytime We Say Goodbye (Stereo) 5:44
  7. Summertime (Stereo) 11:37
  8. But Not For Me (Stereo) 9:37

HD Tracks [24-96]

John Coltrane – soprano & tenor saxophone
McCoy Tyner – piano
Steve Davis – double bass
Elvin Jones – drums

One thought on “John Coltrane – My Favorite Things (1961) (2022) Remastered [24-96]