Box of Rain

Johnny Cash- At San Quentin, with The Carter Family, Carl Perkins and The Statler Brothers – Legacy Edition 2 CDs (1969) (2006)[16-44.1]

Originally Released: June 4, 1969 (this release July 4, 2006
Recorded: Live at San Quentin State Prison, February 24, 1969

Disc 1

Carl Perkins
1. “Blue Suede Shoes” (Carl Perkins) – 3:52

The Statler Brothers
2. “Flowers on the Wall” – 3:27

The Carter Family
3. “The Last Thing on My Mind” (Tom Paxton) – 3:34
4. “June Carter Cash Talks To The Audience” – 2:41
5. “Wildwood Flower” (Maud Irving, Joseph Philbrick Webster) – 3:49

Johnny Cash
6. “Big River” – 1:43
7. “I Still Miss Someone” – 1:50
8. “Wreck of the Old 97″* (arranged by Cash, Johnston, Blake) – 3:24
9. “I Walk the Line” – 2:28
10. “Medley: The Long Black Veil/Give My Love To Rose” (Danny Dill, Marijohn Wilkin) – 4:06
11. “Folsom Prison Blues” – 3:00
12. “Orange Blossom Special” (Ervin T. Rouse) – 3:03

Johnny Cash, June Carter Cash and Carl Perkins
13. “Jackson” (Jerry Leiber, Billy Edd Wheeler) – 3:23
14. “Darlin’ Companion” (Sebastian) – 2:24

The Carter Family and Carl Perkins
15. “Break My Mind” – 2:56

Johnny Cash and Carl Perkins
16. “I Don’t Know Where I’m Bound” – 5:14
17. “Starkville City Jail” – 3:32

Disc 2

1. “San Quentin” – 4:09
2. “San Quentin” – 3:13
3. “Wanted Man” (Dylan/Cash) – 3:29

Carl Perkins
4. “Restless” (Perkins) – 3:54

Johnny Cash and Carl Perkins
5. “A Boy Named Sue” – 3:45
6. “Blistered” – 1:46

Johnny Cash, The Carter Family and Carl Perkins
7. “(There’ll Be) Peace in the Valley” (Dorsey) – 3:14

Carl Perkins
8. “The Outside Looking In” – 3:00

The Statler Brothers & Carl Perkins
9. “Less Of Me” – 2:45

Johnny Cash, The Carter Family and Carl Perkins
10. “Ring Of Fire” (Carter, Kilgore) – 2:07

Johnny Cash, The Carter Family, The Statler Brothers and Carl Perkins
11. “He Turned The Water Into Wine” – 4:01
12. “Daddy Sang Bass” – 2:43
13. “The Old Account Was Settled Long Ago” (Dalton) – 2:16
14. “Closing Medley: Folsom Prison Blues (June Carter Cash)/I Walk The Line (The Carter Family)/Ring Of Fire (The Statler Brothers)/Folsom Prison Blues (Carl Perkins)/The Rebel – Johnny Yuma (Johnny Cash)/Folsom Prison Blues (Johnny Cash)” – 5:08

Johnny Cash - vocal, Acoustic guitar
June Carter Cash - vocal
Carter Family - vocals, Autoharp, Guitar
Marshall Grant - bass guitar
W.S. Holland - drums
Carl Perkins - electric guitar
Bob Wootton - electric guitar
The Statler Brothers - vocals

If you’ve only ever heard the original release of this classic, you’ve only heard the sanitized for the genteel version. Raw unabashed Johnny at his finest, cracking wise and the infamous bird are all here in their glory. Add in The Carter Family, a bit of The Statler Brothers and some seriously fuzzed out Carl Perkins licks and you have the makings of an even greater classic.

Not A Good Place To Be Bending Over

The original release can be found Here, along with information on the background of the show, thanks to BTJ

7 thoughts on “Johnny Cash- At San Quentin, with The Carter Family, Carl Perkins and The Statler Brothers – Legacy Edition 2 CDs (1969) (2006)[16-44.1]

  1. Mr. Kotter

    I never listened to this guy growing up (except for through the good ol’ GD). Of course I knew of him, but not my genre and never got curious enough. My loss. I didn’t have any older brothers or sisters so I pretty much discovered music on my own (never liked what was on the radio much).
    I defiantly liked the original version of this, but this is a whole nother level.

    Thanks, great addition.

    1. aikowolf Post author

      Some of my earliest music memories are my old man playing the Live at San Quentin album. ( he had not less than a few K-Tel the “best of country music” from the late 60s and early 70s too) His family were real hill folk from outside Harrisburg, Pa. I grew up listening to JC, Merle, Flatt & Scruggs, Bill Monroe and so many others I’ve forgotten about.

      You gentle folk are quite welcome, I’m really loving rediscovering some of my music tucked away on hard drives and sharing it with you all.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.