Box of Rain

Pink Floyd – The Man & The Journey – Live in Amsterdam (1969) (2020) SBD Remastered [16-44]

For a long time, this was one of the most spectacular Pink Floyd ROIO’s available. It was finally officially released in 2016 on the Early Years 1967-1972 box set. This version has been derived from a digital clone of the complete VPRO master*, so this is essentially from the same source that camp Floyd used. I mastered this version for myself because the Early Years mastering doesn’t do it for me. Also, this version is fully unedited which means it’s 5 minutes longer than the official release (granted, half of that is the not rather exciting ‘Tea time’ in which the group drank tea on stage). The first 20 seconds are absent on the VPRO master clone and are taken from an old radio broadcast.

‘The Man & The Journey’ was a suite which was performed live from spring to the fall of 1969. It consists of previously released songs and some at-the-time new material, including a few tracks which ended up on Ummagumma. Evidently, the concept is fairly loose and this is probably why it didn’t stick with the group. Still, this is a fascinating document and with great soundquality if you consider this was made for a radio broadcast in 1969.

Announcer: ‘Smoking is not allowed.’
Crowd: (gasps)
One female crowd member: ‘BITCH!’
Announcer: ‘Yeah, I’m sorry about that as well. Er, the photographers in the front here will have to leave after 6 and half minutes give or take because they are blocking the view of the most expensive seats. And that would be a pity.’
Crowd: (claps)
Announcer: ‘And then I got this note that Nicky of the Pink Floyd wrote for us. The concert consists of two parts; it tells the story of a man…’
Crowd: (laughs & claps)
Announcer: ‘… and the journey he makes. The first part represents 24 hours of his daily life: wake, work, rest, make love, dream and wake again. The second part is about the hardships he suffers and the mysterious ending of the story.’
: (claps)

Track Listings:

  1. ‘House Announcement’
    (The Man)
  2. Daybreak (Grantchester Meadows)
  3. Work
  4. Tea Time
  5. Afternoon (Biding My Time)
  6. Doing It (The Grand Vizier’s Garden Party Pt. 2)
  7. Sleeping
  8. Nightmare (Cymbaline)
  9. Labyrinth

(The Journey)

  1. The Beginning (Green Is The Colour)
  2. Beset By Creatures Of The Deep (Careful With That Axe, Eugene)
  3. The Narrow Way (Part 3)
  4. The Pink Jungle (Pow R. Toc H.)
  5. The Labyrinths Of Auximenes
  6. Footsteps / Doors
  7. Behold The Temple Of Light
  8. The End Of The Beginning (A Saucerful of Secrets)


Source: Stereo Soundboard > Pre-FM Reel-To-Reel Master > CDR > FLAC > Mastering 2020 > FLAC

Recorded Live to 2-Track by the NOS Mobile on September 17, 1969 @ Concertgebouw, Amsterdam, Netherlands for broadcasting by VPRO Radio.